Tranny choice??

BIGB90teg

Just curious about which tranny I should use for my all motor LS should I use a B16 w/LSD or a GSR w/LSD? I have no experience with trannies that's y I'm asking I do some interstate traveling but rarely so it would be mostly city and around town driving!

NcSi

well at about 70 in 5th with th b16 you'll be in vtec lol...........the b16 has better gearing for lets say the 1/4 but the gsr will be better if ur dding it :)

DA_Integra

Not White, Pearl White
I had a b16 cable tranny with my LS and I redlined in 5th a 120mph. It was nice for the 1/4 mile and light to light racing but if your looking for distance forget it go with the gsr tranny.

TeggyBear_Ls

90 EF LS/V 95 DC4
I have a question about the b16 tranny. Which b16 are you guys talking about? the 99-00 Civic Si b16? Because those gears didn't seem very short at all when my bro smashed on one in his LS. :D Video on youtube! Rawr!

Integraguy04

CORNER CARVER
i had a USDM 97'spec Type R tranny on my LS and with my cams I was revving to 8K...in 4th gear I would end around 100-105 i think...b16/type r are nice for the quarter...but highway races FTL

TeggyBear_Ls

90 EF LS/V 95 DC4
i had a USDM 97'spec Type R tranny on my LS and with my cams I was revving to 8K...in 4th gear I would end around 100-105 i think...b16/type r are nice for the quarter...but highway races FTL
When I get my Jetta chipped (higher redline, 6500<7200), I hit 115-120mph in 3rd gear. :) 45-50 in 1st, 70 in 2nd... Probably 135 in 4th... I have such tall gears! Even now my 3rd is like 95-100mph...

I wish I had shorter gears for better acceleration; but my 2.8liter V6 has too much torque for short gears :) And my top end is amazing! I bet your gas mileage goes down like crazy with the b16 tranny too

BIGB90teg