Poor Man's Type-R...

s1mpsons

Hi Everyone,

I am new to clubintegra. I joined because I am looking for one of two things.

1. 98-01 ITR

2. Poor man's Type-R

Now, before anyone says "if you have the money to buy the ITR, but it!" let me just say I want this car to be a track star. And anyone who has been to the track knows you have to be pretty much willing to wreck the car to be able to get the fastest time out of it. Now I am not reckless and I would never intentionally wreck my track car, but it IS a risk. The few times I have tracked my STI, I felt I couldn't go all out. I maybe went 85%. Also, tracking a heavy car like an STI kills wear items like no other. After a day at the track I need new tires, brake pads and rotors. These parts wear much slower and are much more expensive than for cars like integras, miatas, and other small cars. Because of all this, I think a poor man's type-R is best for me.

So I ask you, the clubintergra community, what needs to be done to make a base intergra (is 94 the lightest year?) mechanically equal too or better than an ITR. I am really counting on you suspension and engine gurus to fill me in on key ITR changes over the base integra's platform. Here's what I was thinking:

Motor choices:
Type-R or ????

Transmission:
Type-R or Non-Type-R + LSD

Suspension:
I'm think Koni/GC setup, cheap and effective.

Weight reduction:
-rear seats
-carpeting
-trunk panels and carpeting
-door panels
-2 Recaro (JDM??) Type-R seats

Thanks for your help!

-Jake

Last edited:

DailyDB8

>>>Honda Enthusiast<<<
94 RS 2dr, would be the best poor mans type r. why a 94? cause OBD1 kicks ass, less o2 sensors and less limitations. this is only in the 94-96 models. why a RS? its the lightest model integra.