'89 Integra worth the trouble?

t41w4ne5ef0b

Hey guys,

Newbie here. Sadly I don't currently own an integra, but it's possible for me to get my hands on a '89 Integra, and of course, I would like to rebuild/repair/restore the Integra. However, I wanted to know if it would be worth the trouble/investment to do so (or how possible it would be). I've NEVER tried to do anything like this before, nor do I have a lot of experience doing any rebuilding/repairing/restoring on a car.

As far as I know, the car is in working condition, but I don't know many of the details about the car. The biggest concern I have is getting a place to store the car and work on it. The garage is full at my house and I'm wary of leaving it in the driveway (I've read posts of people's integra's getting stolen and parted :( ). This also brings me to my next point since I'm currently a college student attending an out-of-state school (thus there would be extensive down time) and leaving a car in the baking sun isn't such a good idea if you're trying to restore it. Plus the humidity is horrible here, and I'm pretty sure that's not good at all...

If I were to get the car, I'd hope to replace the engine. I've browsed the forum and I'm pretty sure this integra has a D16 on it (I'm almost positive that this car hasn't too much work done on it). That job alone seems like it'll cost more than $1k (anyone have #'s to give me a better idea?). It also seems like an engine replacement would mean no A/C? (It's almost impossible to survive without A/C where I live). I also don't know what other parts need replacing/repairing since I've never driven the car.

And also another question: Would it be possible to switch out an automatic transmission to a manual transmission (this particular integra is an automatic)? I'd like to use this car mostly for joyriding, and a manual just seems a lot more fun.