Rough running at low RPM (regardless of gear).

mattress67

Newbie here,

I searched the forum and couldn't find an answer to my 88 Integra LS problem. 140K, low miles, but pretty worn all over.

Out of gear, engine revs great. When I start in first, below approx. 1500 rpm, car runs rough up until about 1500 rpm. If I jam on the gas, it would run even rougher. My technique is to just go easy on the gas until the engine gets out of the troubled range. Once I'm above the range, the engine runs smooth. But once I put it into second, third, forth, and fifth, (initially low RPM) it's the same thing. Once the RPM's get above 1500, it's as if a switch is turned on and the roughness disappears instantly. Obviously not an issue on the highway, but driving in the city is a nightmare. Also the RPM numbers are an estimate as the tach is inop. Need to check wires coming off dist. cap (found that answer!)

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

integraman123

well what exactly does it do when you say "runs rough" ,does it chatter coming out of first(does the whole front end shake bad comin out of first) cause if that tha case then its your clutch disk is completly worn down,ive got a 89 integra rs and it had the same problem (the whole front end felt like it was about to come apart when i would come outta first). but if thats not what it is ,tell me what exactly your experiencing when you say its running rough.Ive had ALOT!!!! with myn when i first got it but its just about completly mecanicly restored basicly iv had a shitload of problems with my 89 teg & fixed them myself, so i should be able to help you

mattress67

Thanks for the reply, you're right, I was not clear on my description of "running rough." Right now it's on it's second clutch. I experienced the loss of the first clutch over ten years ago (the car has been mostly in storage over the past five years), so I don't think that is the problem -- although it too isn't in the best shape.