How to change the main relay in a 1990 Integra GS??

storm2313

I love this car but i'm afraid I'm a rookie when it comes to performing simple fixes.

Does anyone have pictures for changing the main relay for this car or at least some instructions?

I hate to go to the stealership or high priced mechanic for an easy fix..

Thank you.

imcnblu

Resident G2 Guru of C-I
locate the relay, un plug it and if it is screwed to the body unscrew it.. then put the new one in and start the car.
he's gonna need a little more help than that. he's asking where it is etc. don't tell him to locate it if he doesn't know where to look.

step by step, and its definitely easy. i've had to do it on mine.

1. remove the lower panel below the steering wheel (2 screws outside, 1 inside the coin tray)
2. take a LONG EXTENSION with a 10mm socket (extension needs to be at least 6" i used a 6" and a 3" to make sure i had enough.
3. the relay is a brown (or newer relays have a black casing) rectangular box with one of the following stamps on it. RZ-0067 (OLD BROWN MODEL) or RZ-0063 (NEW BLACK BOX MODEL) its almost dead center under the steering wheel. look around for about 10 seconds, the stamp is bold and obvious, can't miss it.
4. remove the bolt that secures the relay to the under dash area (one bolt, easy to remove, kind of a pain to put back in, but its doable with patience)
5. if you ordered a new one from the dealer and got the RZ-0063 casing, you will need to swap the black box "case" for the brown "casing" as the mounting bracket on the new one faces the wrong direction and won't bold up correctly. its a simple swap, takes 10 seconds and fits perfect (it is the same part, after all.
6. simply unplug the harness from the old relay to the new one.
7. swap "cases" if needed as mentioned in step 5, if you haven't done so already.
8. bolt it back up to where it was originally located.
9. put your under dash panel back on
10. start car.
11. drive
12. return home
13. get online